Hiatus

Normally for students, going on holiday is a short affair, unless you did a ‘gap yar’. It’s a time to relax with friends or family, drink in a hot country where no one knows your name and ‘what happens in Ibiza, stays in Ibiza.’ Normally, its short lived and we all come back with burnt shoulders wondering where the time went. So to embark on a trip significantly longer and somewhat different to package holidays is a long process of mental adjustment into the ‘holiday phase’. This usually means going without most technology for a week or two, but I now face a whole month of backpacking and the western-y, girly part of me is dreading a hiatus of Twitter, Facebook, Pinterest, Blogging, YouTube etc etc. The truth is that I’m going to miss it far too much. I’m used to growing up and going on holiday where I rarely get to relax on a beach, in fact the parents would get us out to any monument/castle/church/ museum they could think of.

And for that, I’m thankful. But now I feel I can’t visit anywhere without the world knowing about it online. It’s not even important, but why does it feel so good? I should stop whinging and enjoy the sun but the cliché is that our generation’s social media presence is actually a large part of our lives that, even though our parents haven’t quite adapted to it yet, we have. I’m not dreading climbing a mountain and being active; quite the opposite, I adore adventure. But university has taught me that life would be a lonely affair without being able to connect with my friends on Facebook. The truth is, I’m going to miss them, seeing what they do every day and showing them I love that they’re having a good time via the ‘like’ button. We should stop feeling guilty if we miss a few things that happen while we’re away, right? Well, I don’t wanna be left behind. (Lucky for me, the presence of some amazing people made my holiday send off party an awesome affair, so the guilt hasn’t quite settled in yet).

I guess the whole point of this post is to say to the world that despite my radio silence, I’m still here. Of course, having fun on holiday is totally possible without tweeting ridiculous hashtags, but I’ve realised how much wifi means to me, and I don’t want to be without my funny cat videos for a month, especially when I’ve trained myself to post on Facebook every time something amazing happens. But I guess you’re all going to have to wait to see the pictures of the view from the top of the mountain, even if patience isn’t my forte.

Talk to Peach! What do you think?

