Pretty Things: The Pinterest Effect

As I look back at my first year at university, many fond memories and events spring forward. Most of them, however, surprisingly involve the website Pinterest. Having joined the site at the beginning of the year, I was thrown into a completely different world full of strange arts and crafts that made me so envious, I had to try them, and outfits so gorgeous that I had to make/buy stuff just to keep up with trends. Suddenly, my brand new flatmates and I were colouring awesome signs for our doors, wallpapering our walls and decorating as if we didn’t have homes to go back to. Pinterest made all our group activities, well, Pinteresting. 

It's blurry, but I'm proud of my Pinteresting uni room. Pinterest is even up on my laptop if you look hard enough...

It’s blurry, but I’m proud of my Pinteresting uni room. Pinterest is even up on my laptop if you look hard enough…

For those that don’t know, Pinterest used to be a site you had to be invited to sign up to. It was exclusive and unique – but has turned into something everyone can share pictures on via boards, which are a bit like categorised scrapbooks. It has everything under the sun, from recipes and DIY projects to fashion blogs and fandom pages. This site has inevitably spawned a sister site called Pinterest Fail where individuals share their disasters from trying the notoriously difficult-to-follow tutorials. But aside from the awesome ideas, I think Pinterest has something else to share with everyone. 

Naturally, where there is social media, there are haters. A specific group of people would say that Pinterest just encourages the capitalist society to spend through envy marketing, and persuades and pressurises young females to adhere to the mindset that they NEED the things other people have. Frankly, I can see how they are right. But why is what they are right about wrong? Maybe I’m just too far down the rabbit-hole, but I actually enjoy sharing arts and crafts, outfits and make-up tips with my followers. Haters can’t see that side of the social media. When someone ‘repins’ your original pin, you get a zing of excitement that someone appreciates your taste and your ideas. That’s really the basis of Pinterest. Not to be better than everyone else, just to share. And I love that.

That being said, I cannot deny that the Pinterest Effect does not exist. Of course it does,  I am one of it’s victims, but I’m happy about it. There is nothing wrong with a person my age dressing appropriately and fashionably; it is scientifically proven that wearing make-up makes you more confident, and having washi tape on my walls does not make me a brain dead consumer conformist. These are things I WANT to indulge in, and I am not stupid enough to buy things I don’t need on a regular basis (even though it’s fun). I can see that I don’t need a love heart made of rope hanging on my wall, but doesn’t accomplishing one thing, however small and insignificant, make the rest of our existence so much more fun? That we can potentially reach thousands of people globally and SHARE? Now, I know Pinterest is not a miracle, and no, there is no tutorial for turning water into wine, but in reality, it’s harmless. So all you haters can hate, I’m too busy laughing because I’ve just put smiley faces on all my plant pots.

Be jealous, bitches

Be jealous, bitches

For those on Pinterest, follow me at: PonderingPeach’s Pinterest

Talk to Peach! What do you think?

