Gently Does It

There are days when we are angry. There are days when people treat you and those you love like shit. There are days when you’re so angry you just want to scream.

giphy

Yes, there are those days.

I’ll tolerate those days because they show me who I really do love, really do care for, and who I want in my life. By pure chance, several friends, be it flatmates, friends from Classics Society, from home, and on-line friends have all imparted wisdom to me in passing conversation. Some of this has stuck in my mind and encouraged me to expand on the philosophy I try to live by. To live gently.

My dad gave me this little nugget of wisdom a few years ago, and though I didn’t really get it at the time, it now makes a lot of sense. But like any good philosophy treatise, it is ALWAYS easier said than done, hence, there still exists THOSE DAYS. When you just can’t seem to muster the strength to forgive, but only the strength to stand and fight. But looking back, they are both just as strong. However I believe that forgiveness requires more courage.

“Always forgive, but never forget, else you will be a prisoner of your own hatred, and doomed to repeat your mistakes forever.”

― Wil Zeus, Sun Beyond the Clouds

At this point, I could put my hours of study under the great Gabriele* in Greek and Roman Philosophy to good use and write about my interpretation of Cicero, Suetonius, Plato, Aristotle etc, but at the end of the day, I trust the knowledge given to me by those I love. So back to my friends. This year, a lot of quotes come to mind, and they shall remain uncredited to spare any blushes.

‘Never think badly of your friends until they prove you wrong.’

‘Don’t shit where you eat.’

‘Vir Sursum.’

‘The people that want to be in your life will make the effort to be there.’

To the people that said this to me, thank you, and in return I’m sharing it with other people.

thanks peeps

There will always be awful days, but if you live gently, things will come around and the sun will always come out of the clouds eventually. When that happens, you’ll be too busy being happy to worry.

tumblr_m2jvlj1dIz1qhtn3ko2_250

*Philosophy Lecturer known for imparting spectacular advice

If you want more quotes or inspiration to make you feel on top of the world, visit my Pinterest Board: Chin Up.

Talk to Peach! What do you think?

