Driving Home For Christmas

snow-traffic-roads

This time of year we all find that those long car journeys are a necessary part of the festive period. Vehicles laden with presents and gifts for the family, and the effort worth it to spend time with the people you love. I do find settling down for the long-haul up the motorway a difficult feat to endure. Many people just go to sleep. I like to plug in my iPod and let the world pass me by. Recently, after having found myself skipping many songs on my playlist, I decided to find a few songs to add so that when I do have those hours to spend doing nothing, I can perfect my playlists.

I narrowed my list down to my top 15, though I wouldn’t recommend listening to them all at once.

Lazy Rich – Better Wipe That Up (Revolvr Remix) I quite like this tune, it’s not too intense and good for when you don’t feel like singing along.

James Blunt – 1973, After a,ll the hype of the Christmas festivities, sometimes it’s nice to unwind with a little bit of easy listening.

Lady Gaga and Tony Bennett – Cheek To Cheek, I quite like this rendition of Fred and Ginger’s classic with out being too ‘jazzy’ or loud.

Ed Sheeran – Sing, a recent hit that’s upbeat and always has me singing along.

Sigma ft. Paloma Faith – Changing, I adore this one, particularly the fact that Paloma Faith is in it.

Redbone – Come And Get Your Love, this one has recently come back as part of the Guardians of the Galaxy soundtrack and in my opinion is absolutely brilliant.

Enya – Storms In Africa, Before you judge me, this new-age vibe is great for when you want to be alone with your thoughts or are driving to the rising sun.

Razorlight – America, a classic.

Tijana – To The Sky, F.Y.R Macedonia’s entry into the Eurovision Song Contest 2014. The video is crap, but the tune is refreshingly not-too-cheesy compared to most europop.

Dire Straits – Sultans Of Swing, an absolute favourite of mine, and the guitar solos are worth waiting for.

Katy Perry – Legendary Lovers, KP always ups the vibe and her tunes are especially good on her Prism album.

Empire Of The Sun – Walking On A Dream, a genius song. There are three versions of this which I absolutely adore; the original, the Sam la More 12” remix, and this version, the RAC Mix, unfortunately the only version which isn’t available on iTunes.

Jay Z and Kanye West – No Church in the Wild, no explanation needed.

Room 5 – Make Luv, such a good vibe from this one.

Royworld – Dust, I find this one to be a pretty mellow tune.

And some others which didn’t make top 15 of my unusual driving playlist;

  • Biffy Clyro – Victory Over The Sun
  • Foster The People – Pumped Up Kicks
  • Pendulum – The Island (Radio Edit)
  • Credence Clearwater Revival – Have You Ever Seen the Rain
  • The Wombats – Moving To New York
  • Katy Perry – It Takes Two
  • Empire Of The Sun – We Are The People

Let me know what you think! Comment below.

As always, stay Peachy.

